MP3與MP4 | MP3和MP4之間的區別

喜歡聽音樂的人非常了解MP3文件格式。 它已經有4多年的歷史了,現在MP3已經取代了它。 但是,格式名稱中的數字(4和4)只是有所不同,這可能表明MP3是下一代MPXNUMX。 是的,這是真的,但實際上,這並不是唯一的區別。

目前,MP3和MP4格式都可用。 那是什麼 MP3和MP4之間的區別? 哪個更好,應該使用哪個? 在本文中,我已經解釋了 MP3與MP4 詳細地。 因此,請繼續閱讀直至結尾。

在繼續了解MP3和MP4之間的區別之前,建議首先了解MP3和MP4的確切含義。 一旦了解了它們的區別,也將很容易理解它們之間的區別。

MP3與MP4 | MP3文件格式是什麼?

曾經有一段時間主要使用CD來存儲音頻信息。 然後,MPEG-1音頻層3出現了,它被開發為以數字形式存儲音頻信息。 MP3只是MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3的簡稱。但是MP3文件的大小小於CD中使用的格式的大小。

現在的問題是,如何使MP3格式的尺寸最終小於CD格式的尺寸。 實際上,通過使用“有損壓縮”過程,就像壓縮JPEG文件的大小一樣,對圖像的主要內容沒有任何影響。

將CD中可用的音軌轉換或提取為MP3格式時,其大小將壓縮為原始大小的十分之一。 並且,當人們聆聽時,兩種形式之間沒有發現明顯的差異。

在裡面 ”有損壓縮”過程中,將採用未壓縮的原始音頻文件(數字形式),然後從文件中刪除一些不重要的數據,而不會影響主要且引人注目的內容。 因此,當音頻文件轉換為MP3格式時,其壓縮後的大小將小於CD格式的大小。 而且,MP3格式的音頻看起來就像CD格式的音頻。 繼續閱讀此MP3與MP4評測。

此外,這是完整的 MP4與MOV 評論和最好的 在線音頻細木工 工具供您參考。

MP3的採樣率和比特率

從CD或唱片專輯創建MP3時,需要確定兩個主要參數。 這兩個參數是採樣率和比特率。 並且,這些參數將確定要創建的MP3的文件大小和質量。 就採樣率而言,通常使用44.1 kHz的值。 但是可以在8 kbps至320 kbps的範圍內獲取比特率。 八kbps將創建質量最低的文件。 另一方面,320 kbps將創造最高質量。 以320 kbps的速度播放時,質量將非常高,以至於您無法區分所創建的MP3和原始CD。

此外,比特率越高,文件的大小越大。 因此,如果您不需要非常大的文件,最好不要使用太高的比特率。 但也要記住質量,建議的最低比特率是128 kbps。 這是因為,在128 kbps以下時,任何人都可以輕鬆注意到音質的下降。 因此,您至少應使用128 kbps的比特率,甚至更高。

PS:在這裡,我們將詳細了解 如何將MP3下載到iPhone 以及如何 將音樂從Spotify轉換為MP3 輕鬆。

MP3與MP4 | MP4文件格式是什麼?

如本MP3與MP4審閱中前面提到的那樣,MP3是一種音頻文件格式,MP4可以存儲音頻和視頻。 而且,甚至其他一些數據(如字幕)也可以存儲在MP4文件中。 這僅表示如果您看到帶有.mp4擴展名的文件名,而沒有playing 它,您不知道它是音頻還是視頻。 並且,就像MP3是MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3的簡稱一樣,MP4也是MPEG-4 Part 14的簡稱。

MP4是一個容器,因此由您決定將哪個音頻編解碼器用於音頻數據。 通常,使用高級音頻編碼(AAC)編解碼器。 AAC是最新的壓縮技術。
此外,對於MP4文件,還可以選擇ALAC。 ALAC可以保留黑膠唱片或CD的所有數據,但仍將原始大小壓縮為較小的大小。 如果您需要存檔音樂,這對您來說是個不錯的選擇。

MP3和MP4之間的區別

既然您已經對MP3和MP4的確切含義有了基本的了解,那麼您將毫無困難地了解兩者之間的區別。 下面我列出了最重要和最重要的區別,以便您快速了解:

  • MP3是一種音頻文件格式。 這意味著它無法處理視頻文件。 而且,另一方面,MP4可以處理音頻,視頻甚至字幕。
  • MP3既是編解碼器,也是文件格式。 並且,另一方面,MP4是一個容器。
  • 與MP3相比,MP4可以更好地保留文件中音樂的細微差別和細節。
  • MP3是MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3的縮寫形式。另一方面,MP4是MPEG-4 Part 14的縮寫形式。
  • ALAC的選項適用於MP4,但不適用於MP3。
  • 所有音樂播放器都不兼容MP4。 但是,另一方面,當今可用的幾乎所有類型的音樂播放器都可以輕鬆支持MP3格式。
  • MP3於1994年問世,MP4於2003年發布。
  • MP4文件佔用的空間大於MP3文件佔用的空間。
  • ISO開發了MP4格式。 而且,MP3是由Fraunhofer,IRT和Society&Phillips的一些工程師開發的。
  • MP3文件的擴展名為.mp3。 MP4文件可能會帶有各種類型的文件擴展名。
  • 如果壓縮MP3文件,則會導致質量降低。 另一方面,在壓縮MP4音頻文件的情況下,將進行無損壓縮。

哪個更好:MP3或MP4?

在本MP3與MP4對比中,就質量而言,MP4 / AAC遠遠優於具有類似尺寸的MP3。 這是因為AAC是最新的壓縮技術(如前所述)。 此外,使用ALAC在MP4中存檔的音頻或音樂文件比MP3更好。 原因是ALAC可以保留乙烯基唱片集或CD的所有詳細信息(如上所述),並且仍會減小數據的原始大小。 此外,您可以隨時將此類MP4轉換為MP3。 但是對於MP3,永遠不可能將其轉換回MP4。

應該使用哪一個:MP3或MP4?

如果您使用的是老式的便攜式音樂播放器,則應使用MP3文件格式。 那是因為這樣的音樂播放器可能不支持MP4 / AAC格式。 而且,另一方面,MP3文件將在可以播放數字音樂的任何類型的設備上很好地播放。

此外,如果您收集的MP3格式的音頻文件的數量很大,並且以256 kbps或更高的速度產生,則應將它們保持相同的格式。

但是,如果您打算將模擬數據轉換為數字文件,或者打算從頭開始創建某些CD,我建議您選擇MP4。 具有ALAC編解碼器的MP4將是最佳選擇。 而且,只要需要,該格式就可以隨時轉換為您選擇的任何有損格式,例如MP3。 讓我們繼續進行此MP3與MP4的評論。

MP3和MP4中的文件元數據

值得注意的是,我們在智能手機上使用的音樂播放器應用程序或應用程序只能支持可以支持元數據的文件。 這僅表示不支持元數據的文件無法在此類應用程序上播放。 牢記這一事實,MP3和MP4文件格式都以兩種格式都支持元數據的方式開發。 這就是為什麼移動音樂播放器應用程序支持這種格式的文件的原因。

就MP3文件格式而言,它使用了ID3標籤。 使用這些標籤,可以輕鬆地在文件中存儲歌曲標題,專輯,藝術家,曲目編號和專輯插圖等信息。

同樣,另一方面,MP4文件也能夠利用元數據。 MP4文件格式的另一個優點是它還引入了XMP。 XMP是可擴展元數據平台的縮寫形式。 XMP被認為非常適合MP4的容器格式。 並且,它與許多類型的文件兼容,例如JPEG,PDF,PNG,GIF,WAV,PSD,TIFF,PostScript和Adobe Illustrator等。

MP3 vs.MP4的總結

我希望以上提供的信息足以使您對該主題有所了解 MP3與MP4。 而且,現在您必須清楚地了解 MP3和MP4之間的區別 是,您應該在哪裡使用。

Reviews

MP3 vs. MP4 | The Difference Between MP3 and MP4

Cocospy Phone Spy

The people who are fond of listening to music are very well aware of the MP3 file format. It is more than twenty years old format, which, now, has been succeeded by the MP4. However, there is just a difference in numbers (3 and 4) in the names of the formats, which might indicate that MP4 is the next generation of MP3. Yes, it is true, but actually, it is not the only difference.

At present, both the MP3 and MP4 formats are available. So what is the difference between MP3 and MP4? Which one is better and which one should you use? In this article, I have explained this topic of MP3 vs. MP4 in detail. So just keep reading till the end.

Before moving ahead to understand the difference between MP3 and MP4, it is recommended first to understand what exactly the MP3 and MP4 are. Once you understand what they are, it will be easy to understand the difference too.


MP3 vs. MP4 | What is the MP3 File Format?

There was a time when mainly CD’s were used for storing audio information. Then MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3 came into existence, which was developed to store Audio information in digital form. MP3 is nothing but just a short name of MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3. But the size of an MP3 file is smaller than the size of the format that is used in a CD.

Now the question is how MP3 format manages to end up having a size smaller than the size of the format in a CD. It actually becomes possible with the use of the “Lossy Compression” process, just like the size of the JPEG file is compressed without having any effect on the main content of the image.

When an audio track available in a CD is converted or extracted into the MP3 format, the size gets compressed to almost tenth of the original size. And, no noticeable difference is found between the two forms when listened to by human beings.

In the “Lossy Compression” process, uncompressed and original audio file (in digital form) is taken, and then some unimportant data is removed from the file without affecting the main and noticeable content. Thus the size of the Audio file is compressed to the size smaller than that of the format in a CD when it gets converted into an MP3 format. And, the audio in the MP3 format just looks like that in the CD format. Keep on reading on this MP3 vs. MP4 review.

Besides, here are the full MP4 vs. MOV reviews and the best audio joiner online tools for your reference.


Sample Rate & Bitrate of MP3

When an MP3 is created from a CD or vinyl album, two main parameters need to be decided. These two parameters are the sample rate and bitrate. And, these are the parameters that will determine the file size and quality of the MP3 to be created. As far as the sample rate is concerned, 44.1 kHz value is generally used. But bitrate can be taken within the range of 8 kbps to 320 kbps. Eight kbps will create the lowest quality file. And on the other hand, 320 kbps will create the highest quality. With 320 kbps, the quality will be so high that you will not be able to differentiate between the created MP3 and the original CD.

Moreover, the higher the bitrate, the larger the size of the file will. So it will be better not to use too high bitrate if you don’t want a very large-sized file. But keeping in mind the quality also, 128 kbps is the minimum recommended bitrate. That’s because, below 128 kbps, anyone can easily notice the deterioration of the sound quality. Hence you should use a minimum of 128 kbps bitrate or even more than that.

PS: here, we will learn more about how to download MP3 to iPhone and how to convert music from Spotify to MP3 with ease.

MP3 vs. MP4 | What is the MP4 File Format?

As mentioned earlier in this MP3 vs. MP4 review, that MP3 is an audio file format, MP4 can store both Audio and Video. And, even some other data like subtitles can be stored in an MP4 file. It merely means that if you see a file name with .mp4 extension, without playing it, you cannot know whether it is an Audio or Video. And, just like MP3 is a short name of MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3, MP4 is also a short name of MPEG-4 Part 14.

MP4 is a container, so it is up to you which audio codec is to be used for your audio data. Generally, Advanced Audio Coding (AAC) codec is made use of. AAC is the latest technology of compression.
In addition, in the case of MP4 files, there is an option of ALAC also. ALAC can preserve all the data of a vinyl album or CD, still compressing the original size to smaller. If you are in need of archiving music, it will be a great option for you.


Difference Between MP3 And MP4

Now that you have a basic understanding of what exactly the MP3 & MP4 are, you will not have any difficulty in understanding the difference between both. Below I have listed the most important and key differences for you to have a quick overview:

  • MP3 is an audio file format. It means it cannot handle video files. And, on the other hand, MP4 can handle the Audio, Video and even subtitles.
  • MP3 is both a codec as well a file format. And, on the other hand, MP4 is a container.
  • As compared to MP3, MP4 better preserves nuances and details in the music with the size of the file.
  • MP3 is an abbreviated form of MPEG-1 Audio Layer 3. And on the other hand, MP4 is an abbreviated form of MPEG-4 Part 14.
  • The option of ALAC is available for MP4, but it is not available in the case of MP3.
  • All music players are not compatible with MP4. But, on the other hand, almost all types of music players available today can support the MP3 format easily.
  • MP3 came into existence in 1994, and MP4 was released in 2003.
  • Space occupied by the MP4 files is more than the space occupied by the MP3 files.
  • ISO developed the MP4 format. And, MP3 has been developed by some engineers from Fraunhofer, IRT, and Society & Phillips.
  • MP3 files have the extension as .mp3. And MP4 files may be found with the various types of file extensions.
  • If you compress an MP3 file, it will cause you to have a lower quality. And, on the other hand, lossless compression will be there in case of compression of MP4 Audio files.

Which One is Better: MP3 or MP4?

In this MP3 vs. MP4 review, when it comes to quality, MP4/AAC is far better than an MP3 with a similar size. That’s because AAC is the latest technology of compression (as mentioned earlier also). Moreover, the audio or music file that has been archived in MP4 with the use of ALAC is much better than an MP3. The reason is that ALAC can preserve all of the details of a vinyl album or CD (as mentioned above) and still reducing the original size of the data. Moreover, such an MP4 can be converted into MP3 anytime you require. But in the case of MP3, it is never possible to convert it back into MP4.


Which One Should Be Used: MP3 or MP4?

If you are using an old fashioned portable music player, you should use an MP3 file format. That’s because such a music player may not support MP4/AAC format. And, on the other hand, MP3 files will play well on any type of device that can play digital music.

Moreover, if you have a large collection of audio files in MP3 format that you have produced at 256 kbps or even higher, you should keep them in the same format.

But, in case you are planning to transform analog data into digital files or planning to create some CD’s from scratch, I would recommend you to go for MP4. An MP4 with ALAC codec will be the best option to go for. And, whenever required, this format can be anytime converted into any lossy format of your choice like MP3. Let’s go on with this MP3 vs. MP4 review.


File Metadata In MP3 & MP4

It is worth noting that the music player applications or apps that we use on our smartphones can only support the files that can support metadata. It simply means that the files that don’t support metadata cannot be played on such applications. Keeping this fact in mind, both the MP3 & MP4 file formats have been developed in such a way that both the formats support metadata. That’s why mobile music player apps support the files with such formats.

As far as the MP3 file format is concerned, it makes use of ID3 tags. With these tags, the information like song title, album, artist, track number, and album artwork can be stored easily within the file.

Similarly, on the other hand, MP4 files are also capable of making use of the metadata. An added advantage with the MP4 file format is that it also introduces XMP. Here XMP is the abbreviated form of Extensible Metadata Platform. XMP is considered to be highly suitable with the container format of MP4. And, it is compatible with a large number of types of files like JPEG, PDF, PNG, GIF, WAV, PSD, TIFF, PostScript, and Adobe Illustrator, etc.


Final Words on MP3 vs. MP4

I hope the information provided above is enough to make the things clear for you on the topic MP3 vs. MP4. And, now you must be having a clear understanding of what exactly the difference between MP3 and MP4 is and where you should use which one.

Related Articles

Back to top button