Some individuals think there’s no requirement to delete Snapchat messages manually as they’re set to be deleted automatically.
However, many other users have different requirements. For instance, they need to use a Snap history eraser to delete Snapchat messages before others see them.
If you are one of them, congratulations! This article explains it from the beginning.
Part 1: What Should You Do to Delete Snapchat Messages?
Snapchat messages may be deleted in a variety of ways, but there are a lot of procedures required. However, it’s really simple and straightforward to do so.
The recipient’s mails aren’t cleared by this action. You should erase your Snapchat messages quickly if you feel that someone is trying to read your chats.
To get rid of Snapchat messages, just follow these simple steps:
- First, you should run “Snapchat” using your iPhone. After that, you should be able to see the ghost icon located on top of the screen. Just tap on it.
- After that, you should click on the icon that appears like a gear. That will open the “Settings” option. Just go to the option called “Account Action”.
- Now, you can see an option called “Clear Conversations” to proceed. After that, you can see all the messages with a small “X” icon so you can clear them.
- You should confirm the action so the messages will be deleted.
- If not, you can click on the option “Clear All” option and delete messages.
Part 2: Deleting Saved Snapchat Messages
You can store messages on Snapchat by long-pressing the message you want to save. After that, the saved message gets highlighted and becomes bold in gray.
Both the sender and the recipient’s devices will have access to the communications you send.
We’ll walk you through the process of erasing Snapchat messages from your device and your contacts’ devices.
PS: if you wonder how to delete the Bumble account permanently, you should check out this guide.
2.1. Delete Saved Snapchat Messages on Your Device
Users can save messages so they can view them later since Snapchat messages evaporate immediately.
The following steps will show the process of deleting saved messages on the Snapchat application.
You can follow these steps if you’ve concluded that they’re no longer needed.
01. To begin, you can open Snapchat on your iPhone. After that, you should click on the messages that are saved.
02. After that, you should see selected messages highlighted. Then, you can exit. Once you have done that, you will not see those messages anymore when you open the conversation.
However, if the respective recipient has saved that text, it remains in the app. It will get deleted only if the recipient unsaved it.
Besides, let’s figure out how to clear the Facebook cache.
2.2. Deleting Messages That Are Saved by Other Users
There are some instances in which you cannot delete Snapchat messages. Well, the messages that are already saved by another user. The best option you can use is to ask those users to delete that message.
However, some users refuse to delete such messages for various reasons. If you are dealing with one of those users, you can consider using a Snap history eraser. Such an option might help you clear the messages saved by other users.
So, let’s go ahead and learn how to do that.
01. First, you should download the “Snap history eraser” tool on your device (iPhone). Then, you should open it so you can see the menu. After that, you should choose the option “Delete Sent Items“.
02. Once you have done that, you can see the list of messages that are sent. In this case, you should choose the option that sorts Snapchat messages by time. After choosing that option, you might see the messages will be organized according to the sent time.
03. Tap on the option called “Delete Item” so you will be able to delete the message.
04. Now, you will see that the saved messages are gone from both accounts. That means you successfully deleted Snapchat messages from you and the other party.
Part 3: Will It Be Possible to Delete Snapchat Messages before Others See Them?
Well, the bad news is that there is no such option to clear messages that are already sent.
And the good news is that there can be some possibilities to delete Snapchat messages.
So, if you want to learn how to do that before others see your messages, follow the instructions below.
3.1. Unsend by Deleting the Account
If you want to delete all those Snapchat messages, the first method to try is to delete your account.
As mentioned, you cannot necessarily delete messages if the other person has opened them. So, you should be smart enough to be quick and delete the respective account.
So, how can you delete Snapchat messages that are already sent by deleting the account? Mentioned below is what you should do.
- First, you should open the Snapchat app on the iPhone. After that, you should click on the icon that appears as a “ghost“.
- Then, you should access “Settings” by clicking on the icon that appears like a gear.
- Then, go to “Support” and key in “Delete an Account” in the given field.
- After that, you should enter the passcode of Snapchat. Click on the option called “Delete My Account“.
That’s it. If needed, you can reactivate the same account within thirty days. Just sign in to the same account using the same credentials, and that’s it.
3.2 Disconnect Your Device from Its Data Network
Assume that you don’t want the recipient to be able to view the messages sent before they open Snapchat. In that case, you have another option outside deactivating your Snapchat profile. The catch is that you have to act quickly.
If you’ve sent a message that you shouldn’t have sent, you can immediately disconnect the data network. After that, you can delete it. Using this method, you may be able to resend the message, but don’t press retry after that.
Part 4: How to Delete All Messages on Snapchat Permanently?
Assume that you delete your Snapchat profile from your iPhone. But some files relating to the profile will remain in the device’s iOS system after deletion.
As a result, you’ll need an iOS Snapchat History Eraser to eliminate all the unnecessary files on your smartphone. That will pave the way for you to delete all your messages on Snapchat.
When you use this method, no one will be able to access any of your messages or data. This is when you will need a special Snapchat History Eraser tool called Dr.Fone – Data Eraser (iOS).
How to Use Dr.Fone Data Eraser
- First, you should install Dr.Fone and open it on your computer. After that, you should connect the iPhone to the same PC using a cable. Then, please click on the option called “Erase“.
- After that, please select the option called “Free Up Space“. You can find it in the main interface. Then, tap on the option called “Erase Junk Files“.
- Then, Dr.Fone will scan the iPhone and show all the files that are junk and obsolete. All you need now is to click “Clear” to proceed, so those junk files will disappear.
Well, that’s exactly how you delete Snapchat messages. As you can see, the steps differ based on your situation.
However, the process is not that difficult at all. You may even use a Snap history eraser to get rid of messages read by the other party.
Also, you can use a Snapchat history eraser tool like Dr.Fone – Data Eraser to remove junk files associated with deleted Snapchat messages.